Mmmmm, Pi

Today is National Pi Day. Don’t start salivating just yet; I’m talking about this kind of π. It got me thinking of a great little movie of the same name. It was the first movie of one of my favorite–and now Oscar nominated–director, Darren Aronofsky.

Albert Einstein once said that, “Pure mathematics is, in its way, the poetry of logical ideas.” I like this quote because it draws a comparison between mathematics and language. Math does seem like a totally foreign language to me. Unfortunately, my brain is just not wired for math. I’ve read somewhere before that people who are good at math are just as likely to be good at learning a foreign language. This makes a lot of sense because language, like math, involves patterns. I just want to publicly thank all of my gracious and infinitely patient math and spanish tutors I have had throughout my academic career.

It’s possible that somewhere in this wasteland of infinity that we call The Universe, there is some sort of mathematical constant that explains, well, everything. Although, Larry Gopnik would tell you otherwise.

Now, I am a student of the Humanities, so I try to, at all times, remain humble and approach my understanding of the Universe with reverence and humility. Which I believe is the overall message of the movie, π. In the film, Max Cohen thinks he can find the patterns that exist within even the most complex of human systems. This hubris causes Max’s life to spiral out of control.

I believe it is important to know your place in this life; to know thyself and to know your limitations. I may be counting on my fingers and doomed to calculator dependency for the rest of my life, but I have accepted the magnitude of what I will never understand.

So to all you math maestros out there, I salute you.

-01000100 01100001 01101110 01101001 01100101 01101100

Leave a Reply

