So, At Last We Meet for the First Time for the Last Time

The big Marvel Comics movies coming out this Summer are X-Men: First Class and Captain America: The First Avenger. It’s as if they are trying to make us forget how many comic book movies have been made in the past few years by telling us it’s the first time we have seen something so cool!

I’m not complaining. Believe me, I am ridiculously excited about both movies.

Check out the birth of Cap in this Super Bowl ad:

He may be the first Avenger, but no, this is not the first time Captain America has made it to the big screen. Check out this trailer for the 1990 version:

Yes, I have seen this movie. I very distinctly remember renting it from my local, non-chain operated video store in the early nineties. I was probably like 9 or 10 when I saw it. It was terrible. And 10-year-old Daniel would agree with me.

And who could forget about the Uncanny X-Men? This movie looks incredible. It’s being directed by Matthew Vaughn who directed Kick-Ass. And if you haven’t seen Kick-Ass, shame on you, it was one of the best movies of 2010. Check out the first official trailer:

I also think it is very interesting how both movies are period pieces, with Captain America being set during WWII and X-Men during the Cuban Missile Crisis. The History student in me is giddy with excitement, but let’s face it, the comic book geek in will almost always dominate my scholarly interests.

Despite neither of them being the “first” of anything, I have high hopes for these movies. Looks like it will be a fun summer. And just for fun, here is a different interpretation of the Captain America teaser:

Excelsior!

-Daniel

One Comment on “So, At Last We Meet for the First Time for the Last Time”

  1. Jesse Fyler says:

    Love the Stan Lee nod! I feel the exact same way about these two films. I have also seen the 1990 Captain America, you should watch the trailer for the never released Fantastic Four (1994)

    I feel I must also make light of the other comic book movies being released in 2011. While I am interested to see Green Lantern and Thor, I am also extremely skeptical. The Hal Jordan GL is my favorite DC character and I do not think this movie will do him justice. I have been saying Thor wont translate well to film since I heard about it, it appears I may be right. I will be at both of these movies on their respected opening weekends, and I will be openminded and positive.

    Along with X-Men: First Class and Captain America: The First Avenger I am most anticipating Cowboys and Aliens in the comic book movie genre, it may be perfect, I do not know yet.

    All hail the Generalissimo!


Leave a Reply

