The Hardest Geometry Problem in the World

I have an extreme bias towards every Wes Anderson does. I like all his movies and cannot look at them very objectively. I know many people who also love or at least appreciate Anderson, from film snob buddies to my cousin whose favorite movie was Deep Blue Sea until he was 16.

In all the conversations with all these people I have developed a theory about what decides your favorite Wes Anderson. I would guess that around 90% of anyone I have ever asked “What is your favorite Anderson film?” The answer is nearly always the same; it was the first one they ever saw. This, of course, is not always true, but usually. I am not talking about people who have just seen one of his movies, but several. For example, my favorite is Rushmore. I saw it and loved it, something new and funny. For my wife it was Bottle Rocket, which she watched in college. My cousin’s favorite is The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou which we saw on Christmas day in 2004. My theory is that when you see a Wes Anderson film for the first time, you have little idea what’s coming. Since Anderson made these quirky films others have come along that imitate his style, but when you sit and watch his movies and you realize how funny and warped and damaged the characters are, its new and exciting, something that cannot be repeated.

Obviously there are exceptions to the rule, but I have found this to be pretty standard.

“I saved Latin……….what did you ever do?”

by Jesse Fyler

One Comment on “The Hardest Geometry Problem in the World”

  1. Love this! Idk if you have been doing blogs like this very often but it fits you like a glove! Keep sending them! Looking forward it.


Leave a Reply

